History Of Teaching And Teacher Education In Nigeria

History of teaching

History of teaching and teacher education began from various religious missions such as the Wesleyan Methodist, Church Missionary Society, Baptist, Church of Scotland (Presbyterian), and Roman Catholic were particularly active in Nigeria between 1842 and 1860, and this may be linked back to the advent of western education in the country. They contributed significantly to the improvement of teacher education.

Initially, missionaries concentrated on establishing primary (elementary) education in the country. Students aged 14 and higher must pass the regular V test. They were then hired as instructors and received one hour of daily education from the chief teacher on how to teach. The course lasted two years, after which they had to take the pupil-teacher examination.

For decades, these meetings were held in the final year of the preparation program and lasted six to eight weeks. This was often a potential teacher’s only experience in a classroom or with students in many programs.

In most cases, the student was assigned to an experienced teacher at the school who provided guidance and supervision. A member of the teacher education faculty would visit the potential teacher at least three times.

In Abeokuta, the Church Missionary Society established the first teacher training college, known as the Training Institution, in 1859. (CMS). When the missionaries left Abeokuta in 1896, the school was moved to Lagos. It was later moved to Oyo and renamed St Andrews College, Oyo. The Baptist Mission constructed the Baptist Training College in Ogbomoso in 1897, while the Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society opened a catechist and teacher training center in Ibadan in 1905.

When it first opened, there were four students. The school grew to twenty students by 1918, and the name was changed to Wesleyan College, Ibadan. The teacher training programs offered by the church missions were deemed inadequate.

Instead of professional roles for independent practitioners, they provided instruction that equips their goods for more mundane tasks. As a result, the Phelps-stroke Commission was formed in 1925, followed by the Ashby Commission in 1959.

The Phelps-stroke report resulted in two forms of two-year teacher education. Elementary Training Colleges for junior primary school teachers and Higher Elementary Training Colleges for senior primary school teachers were established. These colleges, like church mission training organizations, educate students but do not prepare them for jobs as teachers.

The Ashby Commission report resulted in the establishment of more universities and the awarding of a Bachelor of Arts (Ed.), B.Sc. (Ed.), or B.ED.

Until recently, the majority of teachers held a Bachelor of Arts or Science degree, with only a few holding a Post Graduate Degree in Education in addition to their Bachelor’s degrees.

With 50 students, the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, launched the B. A. and B. Sc (Ed) programs in September 1961. In 1963, 1964, 1965, and 1967, the University of Ibadan, Ahmadu Bello University, the University of Lagos, and the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), all followed.

The revision of this Commission report for the development of Grade I teachers resulted in the establishment of Advanced Teachers Colleges, which later evolved into what is now known as Colleges of Education.

These colleges were designated for the creation of Nigeria Certificate in Education (NCE) holders, a type of intermediate-level people (teachers) for junior secondary schools, as part of Nigeria’s initiatives in teacher professional development.

Teacher education programs are available in Nigeria through Colleges of Education, National Teachers Institutes (NTI), Faculties of Education at Nigerian Universities, the National Mathematical Centre, and the Nigeria Language Centre.

As part of the road toward teacher professional development, many polytechnic institutions of education provide teacher education programs. FRN (2004) established teaching’s professional status in Nigeria. In compliance with this requirement, the Federal Government of Nigeria established the Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN) as an agency of the Federal Ministry of Education in May 1993.

This body’s responsibilities include, among other things, registering and licensing licensed teachers. Both the FRN (2004) and the TRCN (2004) established the minimum qualification for NCE registration (2007).

Kindly Share

Similar Posts